2013 I-Cycle Derby
Results: Pts:
1 Alex King 2
2 Ted Miller 7
3 Christopher Kosel 13
4 Don Quistorff 14
5 Tom Rufenach 15
  Carol Hauck 19
  Matt Heidtke 19
  Sarah Evans & Tom Kujawa 21
  Loren Kollmar 22
  Jesse Miller 22
  Dave Parkinson 23
  Ron & Debbie Paine -


73rd New Year's Day I-Cycle Derby
January 1, 2023

Back After a Two-Year Hiatus!


For the 73rd New Year's Day, no matter how brutal the weather, bundled-up motorcyclists will ride in the I-Cycle Derby on about 50 miles of Twin Cities area roads.

The I-Cycle Derby is one of the longest-running motorcycle events in the United States. The derby was launched in 1949 by the Gopher State Motorcycle Club, which turned it over to the Travelers Motorcycle Club in the mid-1960s. TeamStrange Airheads has organized the event since 2012.

The Derby was held annually for 72 consecutive years, but was cancelled in 2021 and 2022 due to concerns related to COVID-19.


Riders will leave the starting line beginning at 10:30 a.m. Sunday, Jan. 1, 2023, for the morning portion of the ride. They will return to the starting line to warm up and have lunch, and head out for the afternoon portion of the ride at 1:30 p.m. Winners will be announced around 3:30 p.m.


Once again, the start and finish of the morning and afternoon portions of the rally will be at Diamond's Coffee Shoppe, 1618 Central Ave NE, Minneapolis, MN 55413.

Click "View Larger Map" above for better detail.

As in years past, the 2023 I-Cycle Derby will be "scooter friendly"; the urban and suburban routes will avoid highways and freeways. There could be  a few stretches of 45 MPH. The morning leg and the afternoon leg are each about 25 miles in length.

How It Works:

Motorcycle riders can expect to be on the road for about three hours, but don't know where they are going to go until they reach the starting line in the parking lot behind Diamond's Coffee Shoppe. That's when they receive a card with turn-by-turn directions for the first of four legs they will navigate that day. At the end of each leg, they receive a card for the next leg.

The winner is NOT the fastest rider, but the rider who completes each of the four legs closest to the average speed listed on the route card for each leg. In recent years the average speeds for the four legs ranged from 16 miles per hour to 26 miles per hour.

I-Cycle Derby Rules

How Many Riders?

It always seems to depend on the weather. We have seen as many as 50 riders if the weather is nice and the streets are relatively clear, but on average between 20 and 25 hearty souls leave the starting line, hoping their name will be added to the list of previous winners whose names are engraved on the prestigious traveling trophy.


Entry fee is $20. Coffee, cider, lunch and snacks are provided by our host Diamonds Coffee Shoppe. Donations to offset Lucy's bacon costs are much appreciated.

How to Sign Up?

Easy! Sign-up starts at 9 a.m. at Diamond's on the day of the event. A riders' meeting will be held from 10 a.m. to 10:10 a.m.


Lisa Erbes
678-772-8945 and lerbes@gmail.com

Jim Winterer, route planner
651-308-8686 and jcwinterer@gmail.com


Organizers Announce Retirement from Derby Planning

Winterer and Erbes have announced that this will be their last I-Cycle Derby as route planners and organizers. A search is underway for new derby-planners. Those interested are encouraged to contact them at the numbers listed above. TeamStrange will continue to sponsor the event.

Back to TeamStrange