2013 I-Cycle Derby
Results: Pts:
1 Victor Wanchena 1
2 Bruce Mike & Matt Mike 2
3 Alex King (Captain America) 4
4 Yannis Hourdos 8
5 Sean Lindbergh 9
6 Matt Schurmann 10
7 Richard Ashton 13
8 Don Quistorff 15
9 The Ashton Family (featuring baby Axel) 21
10 Landon Reiner 23
11 Rob Tracy 25
12 Nick Gilbertson 35
13 A.J. Rowe 38
14 Jeffrey Watt 54
DNF Ron & Debbie Paine -
DNF Darryl Doughty -


72nd Annual New Year's Day I-Cycle Derby
January 1, 2020


For the 72nd consecutive New Year's Day, no matter how brutal the weather, bundled-up motorcyclists again will ride in the I-Cycle Derby on about 50 miles of Twin Cities area roads.

The I-Cycle Derby is one of the longest-running, consecutively held motorcycle events in the United States. The derby was launched in 1949 by the Gopher State Motorcycle Club, which turned it over to the Travelers Motorcycle Club in the mid-1960s. TeamStrange Airheads has organized the event since 2012.


Riders will leave the starting line beginning at 10:30 a.m. Wednesday, Jan. 1, 2020, for the morning portion of the ride. They will return to the starting line to warm up and have lunch, and head out for the afternoon portion of the ride at about 1:30 p.m. Winners will be announced around 3:30 p.m.


Once again, the start and finish of the morning and afternoon portions of the rally will be at Diamond's Coffee Shoppe, 1618 Central Ave NE, Minneapolis, MN 55413.

Click "View Larger Map" above for better detail.

As in years past, the 2020 I-Cycle Derby will be "scooter friendly"; the urban and suburban routes will avoid highways and freeways. The morning leg, and the afternoon leg, are each about 25 miles in length.

How It Works:

Motorcycle riders can expect to be on the road for about three hours, but don't know where they are going to go until they reach the starting line in the parking lot behind Diamond's Coffee Shoppe. That's when they receive a card with turn-by-turn directions for the first of six legs they will navigate that day. At the end of each leg, they receive a card for the next leg.

The winner is NOT the fastest rider, but the rider who completes each of the six legs closest to the average speed listed on the route card for each leg. Last year the average speeds for the six legs ranged from 16 miles per hour to 26 miles per hour.

 I-Cycle Derby Rules

How Many Riders?

It always seems to depend on the weather. We have seen as many as 50 riders if the weather is nice and the streets are relatively clear, but on average between 20 and 25 hearty souls leave the starting line, hoping their name will be added to the list of previous winners whose names are engraved on the prestigious traveling trophy.


Entry fee is $20. Coffee, cider, lunch and snacks are provided by our host Diamonds Coffee Shoppe. Donations to offset Lucy's costs are much appreciated.

How to Sign Up?

Easy! Sign-up starts at 9 a.m. at Diamond's, on the day of the event. A riders' meeting will be held from 10 a.m. to 10:15 a.m.


Lisa Erbes
678-772-8945 and lerbes@gmail.com

Jim Winterer, route planner
651-308-8686 and jcwinterer@gmail.com

Back to TeamStrange